Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association

The Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association (WAFCA) includes in its membership professionals from the DC, Virginia and Maryland areas. Founded in 2002, the WAFCA is comprised of professional DC-based film critics with affiliations in television, radio, print and the internet and has grown to include almost 50 dedicated members. The WAFCA group works to advocate complete freedom of expression in film and film criticism – including the individual critic’s right to disagree with the opinions of their colleagues, and to promote public awareness that film is an important art form as well as a means of entertainment.

The 2013 WAFCA Award Winners:

Best Film
12 Years a Slave

Best Director
Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity

Best Actor
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine

Best Supporting Actor
Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Best Supporting Actress
Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave

Best Acting Ensemble
12 Years a Slave

Best Youth Performance
Tye Sheridan, Mud

Best Adapted Screenplay
John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave

Best Original Screenplay
Spike Jonze, Her

Best Animated Feature

Best Documentary

Best Foreign Language Film
The Broken Circle Breakdown

Best Art Direction
Production Designer: Catherine Martin, Set Decorator: Beverley Dunn, The Great Gatsby

Best Cinematography
Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, A.M.C., Gravity

Best Editing
Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger, Gravity

Best Original Score
Hans Zimmer, 12 Years a Slave

The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC
Lee Daniels’ The Butler


[divider]More Articles & Your Comments[/divider]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *