The American Society of Cinematographers Awards

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) announced that it has nominated seven films in the theatrical motion picture category of the 28th annual ASC Awards. The awards were presented on February 1, 2014. The Winner appears in bold.

According to its website, “The American Society of Cinematographers is a non-profit association dedicated to advancing the art of filmmaking. Since its charter in 1919, the ASC has been committed to educating aspiring filmmakers and others about the art and craft of cinematography; it accomplishes this by publishing the internationally renowned magazine American Cinematographer and the venerable American Cinematographer Manual, through seminars at schools and industry events, and via one-on-one mentoring. ASC members volunteer their time for such activities.

ASC membership is by invitation, based on an individual’s body of work. Currently, the membership roster comprises 302 cinematographers who hail from about 20 different countries. The ASC also has more than 150 associate members; these individuals work in ancillary sectors of the industry and are invited to join because of their contributions to the art and craft of motion pictures.”

The ASC list of nominees and winner of the Best Cinematography Award:

Sean Bobbitt, BSC, 12 Years a Slave
Barry Ackroyd, BSC, Captain Phillips
Philippe Le Sourd, The Grandmaster
Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC, Gravity
Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC, Inside Llewyn Davis
Phedon Papamichael, ASC, Nebraska
Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC, Prisoners


Additional awards presented by the ASC: 

ASC Spotlight Award

Ryszard Lenczewski and Lukasz Zal, Ida

Television Film or Miniseries

Jeremy Benning, Killing Lincoln

One-Hour Episodic Series

Jonathan Freeman, Game of Thrones (“Valar Dohaeris”)

Half-Hour Episodic Series

Blake McClure, Drunk History (“Detroit”)

ASC International Award

Eduardo Serra

Bud Stone Award of Distinction

Beverly Wood

Career Achievement in Television

Richard Rawlings, Jr.

ASC Board of Governors Award

John Wells

Lifetime Achievement Award

Dean Cundey

[divider]More Articles & Your Comments[/divider]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *