The American Cinema Editors Awards 2013

The American Cinema Editors Awards nominations were announced Friday bringing the total nominations for American Hustle, Captain Phillips and 12 Years a Slave to seven of the eight main guilds and professional organizations who announce nominees.

According to its website, “ACE, the American Cinema Editors, is an honorary society of motion picture editors founded in 1950. Film editors are voted into membership on the basis of their professional achievements, their dedication to the education of others and their commitment to the craft of editing.

The objectives and purposes of the American Cinema Editors are to advance the art and science of the editing profession; to increase the entertainment value of motion pictures by attaining artistic pre-eminence and scientific achievement in the creative art of editing; to bring into close alliance those editors who desire to advance the prestige and dignity of the editing profession.

Winners were revealed during ACE’s annual ceremony on Friday, February 7, 2014…they are indicated in bold.

Best Edited Feature Film – Dramatic:

12 Years a Slave
Joe Walker

Captain Phillips
Chris Rouse, A.C.E.

Alfonso Cuarón & Mark Sanger

Eric Zumbrunnen, A.C.E. & Jeff Buchanan

Saving Mr. Banks
Mark Livolsi, A.C.E.

Best Edited Feature Film – Comedy or Musical:

American Hustle
Jay Cassidy, A.C.E., Crispin Struthers & Alan Baumgarten, A.C.E.

August: Osage County
Stephen Mirrione, A.C.E.

Inside Llewyn Davis
Roderick Jaynes

Kevin Tent, A.C.E.

The Wolf of Wall Street
Thelma Schoonmaker, A.C.E.

Best Edited Animated Feature Film:

Despicable Me 2
Gregory Perler, A.C.E.

Jeff Draheim

Monsters University
Greg Snyder

Best Edited Documentary – Feature:

20 Feet from Stardom
Douglas Blush, Kevin Klauber & Jason Zeldes

Eli Despres

Tim’s Vermeer
Patrick Sheffield

Best Edited Documentary – Television:

American Masters:  Jimi Hendrix: Hear My Train a Comin’
Stephen Ellis, Gordon Mason & Phil McDonald

American Winter
Aaron I. Butler

The Assassination of President Kennedy
Chris A. Peterson


Best Edited Half-hour Series for Television:

30 Rock: Hogcock! / Last Lunch
Meg Reticker / Ken Eluto, A.C.E.

Arrested Development: Flight of the Phoenix
Kabir Akhtar & A.J. Dickerson

The Office: Finale
David Rogers & Claire Scanlon

Best Edited One-hour Series for Commercial Television:

Breaking Bad: Buried
Skip MacDonald A.C.E. & Sharidan Williams-Sotelo

Breaking Bad: Felina
Skip MacDonald A.C.E.

Breaking Bad: Granite State
Kelley Dixon, A.C.E. & Chris McCaleb

Breaking Bad: Ozymandias
Skip MacDonald A.C.E.

The Good Wife: Hitting the Fan
Scott Vickrey, A.C.E.

Best Edited One-hour Series for Non-commercial Television:

Game of Thrones: The Rains of Castamere
Oral Norrie Ottey

Homeland: Big Man in Tehran
Terry Kelley, A.C.E.

House of Cards: Chapter 1
Kirk Baxter, A.C.E.

Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Television:

American Horror Story: Asylum: The Name Game
Stewart Schill, A.C.E.

Behind the Candelabra
Mary Ann Bernard

Phil Spector
Barbara Tulliver, A.C.E.

Best Edited Non-scripted Series:

Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown: Tokyo
Nick Brigden

Beyond Scared Straight: The Return of Hustle Man
Rob Goubeaux, A.C.E., Mark S. Andrew, A.C.E., Paul J. Coyne, A.C.E., Jennifer Nelson, Martin Skibosh, Trevor Campbell

Deadliest Catch: Mutiny on the Bering Sea
Josh Earl, A.C.E. Alex Durham, Rob Butler

Best Student Editing:

Ambar Salinas, Video Symphony


[divider]More Articles & Your Comments[/divider]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *