The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences 2014

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) began with Louis B. Mayer, head of Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM). Mayer gathered up a group of thirty-six of the most influential people involved in the film industry and invited them to a formal banquet at the Ambassador Hotel in Los Angeles on January 11, 1927. The Academy is now composed of almost 6,000 motion picture professionals.

According to their website, “The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is a professional honorary organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of motion pictures. The Academy’s corporate management and general policies are overseen by a Board of Governors, which includes representatives from each of the craft branches.” The Academy is known around the world for its annual Academy Awards®, now officially known as The Oscars®.

As the motion picture industry faces the end of the film era and digital takes over, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced today that it has voted a special group Oscar® statuette to all those who have built and operated film laboratories over the past century in addition to the other Science and Technology awards.

This is the list of all 2014 Scientific and Technical Awards revealed by the Academy today:

The Academy Award® of Merit (Oscar® Statuette)

To all those who built and operated film laboratories, for over a century of service to the motion picture industry. Lab employees have contributed extraordinary efforts to achieve filmmakers’ artistic expectations for special film processing and the production of billions of feet of release prints per year. This work has allowed an expanded motion picture audience and unequaled worldwide cinema experience.

The Academy Award® for Technical Achievement (Oscar® Certificate)

Olivier Maury, Ian Sachs and Dan Piponi, The ILM Plume System
Ronald D. Henderson, The FLUX Gas Simulation System
Andrew Camenisch, David Cardwell, Tibor Madjar, Csaba Kohegyi and Imre Major, Mudbox Software
Martin Hill, Jon Allitt and Nick McKenzie, Weta Digital
Florian Kainz, Jeffery Yost, Philip Hubbard and Jim Hourihan, Zeno Application Framework
Peter Huang and Chris Perry, Hans Rijpkema and Joe Mancewicz, Voodoo Application Framework
Matt Pharr, Greg Humphreys and Pat Hanrahan, Physically Based Rendering
Dr. Peter Hillman, Toolsets for Deep Compositing
Colin Doncaster, Johannes Saam, Areito Echevarria, Janne Kontkanen and Chris Cooper, Technologies and Workflows for Deep Compositing
Thomas Lokovic and Eric Veach, Deep Shadowing Technology
Gifford Hooper and Philip George, Helicam Miniature Helicopter Camera System
John Frazier, Chuck Gaspar and Clay Pinney, Pneumatic Car Flipper
Joshua Pines, David Reisner, Lou Levinson, Curtis Clark, ASC, and David Register, American Society of Cinematographers Color Decision List
Jeremy Selan, OpenColorIO Color Management Framework

Scientific and Engineering Awards (Academy Plaques)

Ofer Alon, ZBrush Software Tool
Eric Veach, Monte Carlo Path Tracing for Image Synthesis
Andre Gauthier, Benoit Sevigny, Yves Boudreault and Robert Lanciault, FiLMBOX Software Application
Emmanuel Prevenaire, Jan Sperling, Etienne Brandt and Tony Postiau, Flying-Cam SARAH 3.0 System

Gordon E. Sawyer Award (Oscar® Statuette)

Peter W. Anderson

John A. Bonner Medal of Commendation (Medallion)

Charles “Tad” Marburg


[divider]More Articles & Your Comments[/divider]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *