Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Nominations

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) began with Louis B. Mayer, head of Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM). Mayer gathered up a group of thirty-six of the most influential people involved in the film industry and invited them to a formal banquet at the Ambassador Hotel in Los Angeles on January 11, 1927. The Academy is now composed of almost 6,000 motion picture professionals.

According to their website, “The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is a professional honorary organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of motion pictures. The Academy’s corporate management and general policies are overseen by a Board of Governors, which includes representatives from each of the craft branches.” The Academy is known around the world for its annual Academy Awards®, now officially known as The Oscars®. Winners were announced at the annual award ceremonies March 2, 2014 7 ET, 4 PST…winners are indicated in bold.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences nominees and winners of the 2014 Oscar® awards:

Best Picture

American Hustle
Charles Roven, Richard Suckle, Megan Ellison, and Jonathan Gordon, Producers

12 Years a Slave
Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen and Anthony Katagas, Producers

Alfonso Cuarón and David Heyman, Producers

The Wolf of Wall Street
Martin Scorsese, Leonardo DiCaprio, Joey McFarland and Emma Tillinger Koskoff

Dallas Buyers Club
Robbie Brenner and Rachel Winter, Producers

Albert Berger and Ron Yerxa, Producers

Gabrielle Tana, Steve Coogan and Tracey Seaward, Producers

Captain Phillips
Scott Rudin, Dana Brunetti and Michael De Luca, Producers

Megan Ellison, Spike Jonze and Vincent Landay, Producers


Best Director

Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity

Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave

David O. Russell, American Hustle

Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street

Alexander Payne, Nebraska


Best Actor in a Leading Role

Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club

Bruce Dern, Nebraska

Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street

Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

Christian Bale, American Hustle


Best Actress in a Leading Role

Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine

Sandra Bullock, Gravity

Judi Dench, Philomena

Meryl Streep, August: Osage County

Amy Adams, American Hustle


Best Original Screenplay

American Hustle
Written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell

Written by Bob Nelson

Blue Jasmine
Written by Woody Allen

Dallas Buyers Club
Written by Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack

Written by Spike Jonze


Best Adapted Screenplay

Screenplay by Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope

12 Years a Slave
Screenplay by John Ridley

The Wolf of Wall Street
Screenplay by Terence Winter

Before Midnight
Written by Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke

Captain Phillips
Screenplay by Billy Ray

[divider]More Articles & Your Comments[/divider]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *