The 2014 73rd Annual Peabody Awards

Named after the businessman and philanthropist George Peabody, the Peabody Awards recognize distinguished public service in radio and television that reflect excellence in quality rather than popularity.

According to their website: “Since 1940 the Peabody award has steadily grown from being the “Pulitzer Prize for Radio” to recognizing excellence in a wide range of electronic media. In 1948 the Peabody Awards began recognizing television programs, and eventually cable TV was included beginning in 1981. By 2003, the first website had been included in the list of winners and 2012 saw the first Peabody Award given to a blog. From the first radio broadcast, electronic media has been constantly evolving. As the possibilities for storytelling multiply, the Peabody Awards will continue to draw attention to stories that matter in electronic media.”

This is the complete list of the 2014 Peabody Award winners:

180 Days: A Year Inside an American High School (PBS)
National Black Programming Consortium, Corporation for Public Broadcasting, PBS

The African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross with Henry Louis Gates, Jr. (PBS)
Thirteen, Inkwell Films, Kunhardt McGee Productions in association with Ark Media

Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown (CNN)
CNN, Zero Point Zero Production, Inc.

Best Kept Secret (PBS)
American Documentary / POV, BKS Films, LLC

Borgen (DR1, Denmark)
DR Fiktion

Breaking Bad (AMC)
Sony Pictures Television

The Bridge (FX)
Shine America and FX Productions

Broadchurch (BBC America)
A Kudos and Imaginary Friends Co-Production

Burka Avenger (Geo Tez)
Unicorn Black

The Central Park Five (PBS)
Florentine Films, WETA


[divider]More Articles & Comments[/divider]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *