The Los Angeles Film Critics Awards 2013

Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards

The Los Angeles Film Critics Awards are determined by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) which was founded in 1975 to honor screen excellence on both sides of the camera. The LAFCA is comprised of Los Angeles-based, professional film critics working in the Los Angeles print and electronic media. The association of critics votes annually in December and presents their awards to the winners in January.

Here are the 2013 award winners:

Best Picture


Best Picture

Best Actress
Cate Blanchette, Blue Jasmine


Best Actress
Adele Exarchopoulos, Blue is The Warmest Color

Best Actor
Bruce Dern, Nebraska

Best Director
Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity

Best Supporting Actor
James Franco, Spring Breakers


Best Supporting Actor
Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Best Supporting Actress
Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave

Best Foreign Language Film
Blue Is the Warmest Color

Best Documentary/Nonfiction Film
Stories We Tell

Best Screenplay
Richard Linklater & Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke, Before Midnight

Best Animation
Ernest & Celestine

Best Cinematography
Emmanuel Lubezki, Gravity

Best Film Editing
Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger, Gravity

Best Production Design
K.K. Barrett, Her

Best Music Score
T Bone Burnett, Inside Llewyn Davis

The Douglas E. Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video Award
Cabinets of Wonder: Films and a Performance by Charlotte Pryce

The New Generation Award
Megan Ellison

Special Citation Award
The Creative Team, “12 Years A Slave”

Legacy of Cinema Award
The Criterion Collection


[divider]More Articles & Your Comments[/divider]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *