The 2013 European Film Academy Awards

The European Film Academy presents the European Film Awards each year to honor the greatest achievements in European cinema. According to their site: “The creation of the European Film Academy (EFA) was the initiative of a group of Europe’s finest filmmakers brought together on the occasion of the first European Film Awards Ceremony held in November 1988.

EFA was finally founded in 1989 as the European Cinema Society (later renamed the European Film Academy) by its first president Ingmar Bergman and 40 filmmakers to advance the interests of the European film industry. The EFA now unites 2,900 European film professionals with the common aim of promoting European film culture.”

Here are the winners of the EFA Awards for 2013:

Best European Film
The Great Beauty (La Grande Bellezza)

Best European Director
Paolo Sorrentino for The Great Beauty (La Grande Bellezza)

Best European Actress
Veerle Baetens in The Broken Circle Breakdown

Best European Actor
Toni Servillo in The Great Beauty (La Grande Bellezza)

Best European Screenwriter
François Ozon for Dans La Maison (In the House)

Best European Comedy
Love Is All You Need, Susanne Bier, Denmark

Best European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI
Oh Boy!, Jan Ole Gerster, Germany

Best European Animated Feature Film
The Congress, Ari Folman, Israel, Germany, Poland, Luxembourg, France and Belgium

Best European Documentary
The Act of Killing, Joshua Oppenheimer, Denmark, Norway and UK

Best European Short Film
Dood Van Een Schaduw (Death of a Shadow), Tom Van Avermaet, Belgium and France, 20′

Carlo di Palma European Cinematographer Award
Asaf Sudry for Lemale et Ha’Halal (Fill The Void), Israel

Best European Editor
Cristiano Travaglioli for The Great Beauty (La Grande Bellezza) , Italy and France

Best European Production Designer
Sarah Greenwood for Anna Karenina, UK

Best European Composer
Ennio Morricone for The Best Offer, Italy

Best European Costume Designer
Paco Delgado for Blancanieves, Spain and France

Best European Sound Designer
Matz Müller and Erik Mischijew for Paradies: Glaube (Paradise: Faith), Austria, Germany and Fran

People’s Choice Award for Best European Film
The Gilded Cage (La Cage Dorée), Portugal, France

European Achievement in World Cinema
Pedro Almodóvar

European Co-Production Award – Prix Eurimages
Ada Solomon


[divider]More Articles & Your Comments[/divider]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *