The 2015 Independent Spirit Awards Winners

The 2015 Spirit Awards celebrate the spirit of independent film and filmmakers, presented by Film Independent, a non-profit organization dedicated to the art of independent filmmaking. Its voting members include filmmakers, film industry leaders, past Spirit Award nominees and winners, and active members. Founded in 1984, the Spirit Awards are the first event to honor independent film exclusively and the premier awards event for the independent film community. The 30th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards will be hosted by Fred Armisen and Kristen Bell.

This is the complete list of Independent Spirit Awards nominees. Winners will be announced at the annual awards ceremony 2.21.2015. Winners are indicated in bold.


“Birdman (or The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)” – WINNER
Producers: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, John Lesher, Arnon Milchan, James W. Skotchdopole
Producers: Richard Linklater, Jonathan Sehring, John Sloss, Cathleen Sutherland
“Love Is Strange”
Producers: Lucas Joaquin, Lars Knudsen, Ira Sachs, Jayne Baron Sherman, Jay Van Hoy
Producers: Christian Colson, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Oprah Winfrey
Producers: Jason Blum, Helen Estabrook, David Lancaster, Michael Litvak


Damien Chazelle
Ava DuVernay
Alejandro G. Iñárritu
“Birdman (or The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)”
Richard Linklater, “Boyhood” – WINNER
David Zellner
“Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter”


Scott Alexander & Larry Karaszewski
“Big Eyes”
J.C. Chandor
“A Most Violent Year”
Dan Gilroy, “Nightcrawler” – WINNER
Jim Jarmusch
“Only Lovers Left Alive”
Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias
“Love Is Strange”


“A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night”
Director: Ana Lily Amirpour
Producers: Justin Begnaud, Sina Sayyah
“Dear White People”
Director-producer: Justin Simien
Producers: Effie T. Brown, Ann Le, Julia Lebedev, Angel Lopez, Lena Waithe
“Nightcrawler” – WINNER
Director: Dan Gilroy
Producers: Jennifer Fox, Tony Gilroy, Jake Gyllenhaal, David Lancaster, Michel Litvak
“Obvious Child”
Director: Gillian Robespierre
Producer: Elisabeth Holm
“She’s Lost Control”
Director-producer: Anja Marquardt
Producers: Mollye Asher, Kiara C. Jones


[divider]More Articles[/divider]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *